Previous Page

Eisenhower Birthplace State Historic Site

609 S. Lamar Ave, Denison, TX

Phone:
1-(903)-465-8908

Get Directions

Featured Event

No upcoming events

Other Upcoming Events

Home Front Christmas Saturdays

For the Family

Visit the Eisenhower Birthplace during the first three Saturdays in December to experience the sights, sounds, and smells of Christmas in Denison during World War II. The Visitors Center will be “decked out” for a “Homefront Christmas.” Learn about the celebration of Christmas in World War II and visit the museum store to complete your Christmas shopping! The Eisenhower Birthplace is located at 609 S. Lamar Ave in Denison, Texas. For more information please call 903-465-8908.

Information:

• Sat 12/16/17 at 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Texas Archeology Month – Special Exhibit: Parking Lot Archeology

Living History

Discover the long-vanished neighborhood that was located where the Visitors Center parking lot is now. Archeologists explored this site in the mid-1990s. Find out what the archeologists learned through their research and field work. The Eisenhower Birthplace is located at 609 S. Lamar Ave in Denison, Texas. For more information, please call 903-465-8908

Information:

• Fri 12/22/17 at 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Celebrate with the Presidents

Children

Come celebrate Presidents’ Day, George Washington, Abraham Lincoln, and of course Dwight Eisenhower! Get your picture taken with a President or strike your best Presidential pose at the Presidential Podium. Hear stories about Presidents and Presidential candidates. Challenge yourself with Presidential trivia. Find out about Ike’s favorite ways to relax: fishing, golf, and painting. Crafts and Birthplace House tour included. For youth up to age 12. Special Event fee applies. The Eisenhower Birthplace is located at 609 S. Lamar Ave in Denison, Texas. For more information please call 903-465-8908.

Information:

• Sat 2/17/18 at 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Spring Break at the Eisenhower Birthplace: Drop-in Activities

Children

Bring your students to the Visitors Center during Spring Break for free activities to explore the world of Dwight Eisenhower and his Birthplace. Daily activities include painting, crafting, coloring, story time, and STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Math). Children must be accompanied by adults. The Eisenhower Birthplace is located at 609 S. Lamar Ave in Denison, Texas. For more information please call 903-465-8908.

Information:

• Tue 3/13/18 - Fri 3/16/18 at 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM

Easter Egg Roll

Children

President Dwight Eisenhower and First Lady Mamie Eisenhower revived the Easter Egg Roll tradition at the White House in 1953. Enjoy an egg scramble, egg roll races, and craft activities. For youth up to age 12 The Eisenhower Birthplace is located at 609 S. Lamar Ave in Denison, Texas. For more information please call 903-465-8908.

Information:

• Sat 3/24/18 at 2:30 PM - 4:00 PM

The Birth of NASA

History/Science,Museum

President Dwight D. Eisenhower signed the legislation that created the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) on July 29, 1958. Spurred by the Soviet Union’s launch in 1957 of the world’s first artificial satellite, Sputnik I, NASA encouraged the peaceful development of space science.

Information:

• Tue 4/10/18 - Sat 4/14/18 at 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 4/15/18 at 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 4/17/18 - Sat 4/21/18 at 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 4/22/18 at 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 4/24/18 - Sat 4/28/18 at 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 4/29/18 at 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 5/1/18 - Sat 5/5/18 at 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Historic Sites Free Day

Community Event

Take a free tour of the Eisenhower Birthplace House! Tours begin at the top of each hour. The last tour is at 4:00. The Eisenhower Birthplace is located at 609 S. Lamar Ave in Denison, Texas. For more information please call 903-465-8908.

Information:

• Sun 5/6/18 at 1:00 PM - 4:00 PM

The Birth of NASA

History/Science,Museum

President Dwight D. Eisenhower signed the legislation that created the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) on July 29, 1958. Spurred by the Soviet Union’s launch in 1957 of the world’s first artificial satellite, Sputnik I, NASA encouraged the peaceful development of space science.

Information:

• Sun 5/6/18 at 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 5/8/18 - Sat 5/12/18 at 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 5/13/18 at 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 5/15/18 - Sat 5/19/18 at 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 5/20/18 at 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 5/22/18 - Sat 5/26/18 at 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 5/27/18 at 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 5/29/18 - Sat 6/2/18 at 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 6/3/18 at 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 6/5/18 - Sat 6/9/18 at 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 6/10/18 at 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM

“Lost Neighborhood” Self-Guided Tours

Community Event

Take a self-guided tour of the neighborhood that once surrounded the Birthplace House. These houses are gone but their outlines will be drawn on the ground where they once stood. Pick up a tour program in the Visitors Center to find out what archeologists and historians have learned about these “lost” places. The Eisenhower Birthplace is located at 609 S. Lamar Ave in Denison, Texas. For more information please call 903-465-8908.

Information:

• Sat 6/16/18 at 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

The Birth of NASA

History/Science,Museum

President Dwight D. Eisenhower signed the legislation that created the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) on July 29, 1958. Spurred by the Soviet Union’s launch in 1957 of the world’s first artificial satellite, Sputnik I, NASA encouraged the peaceful development of space science.

Information:

• Tue 6/12/18 - Sat 6/16/18 at 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

“Lost Neighborhood” Self-Guided Tours

Community Event

Take a self-guided tour of the neighborhood that once surrounded the Birthplace House. These houses are gone but their outlines will be drawn on the ground where they once stood. Pick up a tour program in the Visitors Center to find out what archeologists and historians have learned about these “lost” places. The Eisenhower Birthplace is located at 609 S. Lamar Ave in Denison, Texas. For more information please call 903-465-8908.

Information:

• Sun 6/17/18 at 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM

The Birth of NASA

History/Science,Museum

President Dwight D. Eisenhower signed the legislation that created the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) on July 29, 1958. Spurred by the Soviet Union’s launch in 1957 of the world’s first artificial satellite, Sputnik I, NASA encouraged the peaceful development of space science.

Information:

• Sun 6/17/18 at 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 6/19/18 - Sat 6/23/18 at 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 6/24/18 at 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 6/26/18 - Sat 6/30/18 at 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 7/1/18 at 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 7/3/18 - Sat 7/7/18 at 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 7/8/18 at 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 7/10/18 - Sat 7/14/18 at 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 7/15/18 at 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 7/17/18 - Sat 7/21/18 at 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 7/22/18 at 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 7/24/18 - Sat 7/28/18 at 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 7/29/18 at 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 7/31/18 - Sat 8/4/18 at 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 8/5/18 at 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 8/7/18 - Sat 8/11/18 at 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 8/12/18 at 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM