Previous Page

Zurbarán: Jacob & His Twelve Sons, Paintings from Auckland Castle

Museum

The biblical text of Genesis 49, in which Jacob, patriarch of the Israelites, gathers his twelve sons and delivers a prophetic blessing for each, inspired Spanish Golden Age master Francisco de Zurbarán (1598-1664) to create one of his most important and monumental series, a total of thirteen canvases, with all but one in the collection of a single owner. Housed at Auckland Castle, County Durham (UK) since 1756, this exhibition marks the first time these precious holdings will be presented in America, and only the second time in history that they’ve left Auckland Castle, a unique opportunity to admire the most significant public collection of the artist’s work outside of Spain.

Website:
meadowsmuseumdallas.org/exhibitions/current-and-upcoming/zurbaran/

Dates in your area:
SMU – Meadows Museum
• Fri 10/20/17 - Sat 10/21/17 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 10/22/17 at 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 10/24/17 - Wed 10/25/17 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 10/26/17 at 10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
• Fri 10/27/17 - Sat 10/28/17 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 10/29/17 at 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 10/31/17 - Wed 11/1/17 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 11/2/17 at 10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
• Fri 11/3/17 - Sat 11/4/17 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 11/5/17 at 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 11/7/17 - Wed 11/8/17 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 11/9/17 at 10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
• Fri 11/10/17 - Sat 11/11/17 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 11/12/17 at 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 11/14/17 - Wed 11/15/17 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 11/16/17 at 10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
• Fri 11/17/17 - Sat 11/18/17 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 11/19/17 at 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 11/21/17 - Wed 11/22/17 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 11/23/17 at 10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
• Fri 11/24/17 - Sat 11/25/17 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 11/26/17 at 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 11/28/17 - Wed 11/29/17 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 11/30/17 at 10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
• Fri 12/1/17 - Sat 12/2/17 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 12/3/17 at 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 12/5/17 - Wed 12/6/17 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 12/7/17 at 10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
• Fri 12/8/17 - Sat 12/9/17 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 12/10/17 at 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 12/12/17 - Wed 12/13/17 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 12/14/17 at 10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
• Fri 12/15/17 - Sat 12/16/17 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 12/17/17 at 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 12/19/17 - Wed 12/20/17 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 12/21/17 at 10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
• Fri 12/22/17 - Sat 12/23/17 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 12/24/17 at 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 12/26/17 - Wed 12/27/17 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 12/28/17 at 10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
• Fri 12/29/17 - Sat 12/30/17 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 12/31/17 at 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 1/2/18 - Wed 1/3/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 1/4/18 at 10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
• Fri 1/5/18 - Sat 1/6/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 1/7/18 at 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM